*toot*

‘scuse me while I blow my horn. 😉

A milestone has been reached, my friends.  Given the support of my wonderful pookie and friends, it wasn’t as hard as I expected, but simultaneously, I can’t really believe it’s here.  There’s the numerical proof, of course, but that’s not as much fun as this comparison.

This is me (and mah pookie) on our last group beach trip, circa April ’07.  And the sad thing is, that’s not even my highest weight, but boy do I look every last pound of it, right?

Cut to me last Sunday, getting ready to go on our 5th anniversary beach trip.  Oh yeah…see that skirt?  The last time I wore it, I wasn’t married.  The last time it actually FIT when I wore it, I was in college.

The difference between those two pictures is TEN PERCENT OF MY BODY WEIGHT.

When I joined Weight Watchers, overwhelmed by the distance between my current state and my ultimate goal weight, they told me (in a slightly conciliatory tone, I thought) that even a 10% loss could be a huge benefit.  It’s kinda ridiculous how right they were.  While I haven’t really gone down a full dress size, I can now wear jeans without them digging into my tummy, and button-down shirts without the buttons straining, and a bathing suit without things jiggling and dimpling (as much).

It’s just plain euphoric.  The journey isn’t done by any means — I’m about 1/3 of the way to my ultimate healthy weight goal — but this is proof that it can be done, and done without the traditional trappings of a “diet.”  At no point in the last three months have I felt deprived or suffered some insurmountable craving; on the contrary, it’s been a lot of fun experimenting with new ingredients and preparations.  When we don’t go to the same well of “fried this” and “fast food that”, I get to be more creative in the kitchen, and that’s awesome.  I haven’t had to follow some prescribed menu, or (even worse) have food shipped in — the whole point here is learning to feed OURSELVES, both at home and on the road.

This morning, I went grocery shopping before work.  It felt very European as I filled my basket with bell peppers and baby spinach and zucchini and summer squash and lemons.  Roasted garlic hummus, whole grain pita pockets, fresh tilapia and tuna…didn’t need to buy herbs; my herb garden on the back porch has basil, thyme, and chives to add.  We’re going to eat well this week.

Speaking of eating well, remember how we went to the beach for a week?  The BEACH, where the biggest import is butter, and the very menu is battered and fried before they hand it to you?  Ain’t no thang.  We ordered grilled; we got dressings and sauces on the side, so that we can control what some yahoo in the kitchen is pouring over our poor defenseless broccoli; we ordered veggie sides when possible.  We walked every day (and night…a full moon over the ocean is beyond romantic) and biked around the island’s historic district.  We ate healthy, point-friendly meals 2 out of 3 times a day.  And I lost 1.6 lbs.  I didn’t just meet my 10% goal on this trip; I exceeded it by half a pound.

It’s official.  If I can do this, anybody can.

4 Comments

  1. mikey said,

    June 25, 2008 at 9:18 am

    UR A TOOT.

    Yay my woman! =)

  2. krishyana said,

    June 26, 2008 at 8:39 am

    =D whoohoooo~!! you go girl 🙂

  3. freundlyfolk said,

    July 1, 2008 at 10:22 am

    WOOOOOOOO!!
    you are AWESOME, chickie! GRATS!!
    😀

  4. hannahbella said,

    July 2, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Hey sexy lady, how YOU doin? 😉


Leave a Reply

